BECHTESLVILLE, PA (August 17, 2017) – In front of a jam-packed NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series crowd, Freddie Rahmer of Salfordville, PA became a third-generation winner at Grandview Speedway collecting the victory in the 3rd Annual Thunder Cup presented by Levan Machine and Truck Equipment.

“My Dad won here, My Grandfather won here, I can’t begin to tell you how much it means to win here,” an elated Freddie Rahmer said in victory lane.

Mark Smith of Sunbury, PA and Ryan Smith of Kunkletown, PA led the 26 car field to the green flag. Mark Smith pulled to the lead quickly with Ryan Smith close in tow, and Freddie Rahmer powering past Swindell into the third spot.

The leaders hit heavy lapped traffic on the sixth circuit around the one-third mile – with Mark Smith weaving in and out of cars, extending his lead over the pack. Smith’s sizable lead was short lived as traffic closed the gap between the top runners giving Ryan Smith the opportunity to pounce on Mark Smith.

A Lap 13 red flag flew for Hunter Mackison, who got upside down in turn 2, clearing the boiler plate and landing off the race track. The incident that retired Mackison and Brandon Rahmer.

Mark Smith charged back to the top spot when the race resumed, while Ryan Smith fought hard for the second spot with Freddie Rahmer. Rahmer dove to the inside of the race track crossing under Ryan Smith, but Smith battled back on the inside.

The yellow flag flew on lap 21 for Brandon Spithaler. During the yellow flag, the right rear tire of leader, Mark Smith’s machine went flat sending the No. M1 pit side. Fortunately for Smith, a caution on the restart allowed him to change the tire and rejoin the field.

Ryan Smith inherited the lead and charged to the top side of turn one on the restart, maintaining control on the top side of the one-third-mile speedway. Smith held the top spot for four circuits before Rahmer was able to shoot toward the inside of the race track completing the pass on lap 25.

It was all Rahmer for the balance of the 35-lap feature event, maintaining a lead of five-car-lengths when the checkered flag flew.

Ryan Smith would settle for the second position, Spring Grove, PA’s Greg Hodnett in the third spot, St. Helena, CA’s Rico Abreu in fourth, and Phoenixville, PA’s Brian Montieth rounding out the top five.

Alan Krimes of Denver, PA took home a $150 hard-charger bonus. Chad Kemenah set Quick time of the evening with a lap of 11.545. Heat races were won by Sammy Swindell, Dale Blaney, Ryan Smith, and Mark Smith.